Pawleys Plantation Course Reviews

An extensive renovation now brings an extraordinary, four-star designed Myrtle Beach golf club - true to the classic architecture of Pine Lakes, while also achieving a dynamic expansion, restoration and full blossoming of this historically prominent facility. The revamped Granddaddy debuted in March 2009.

OVERALL SCORE: [8.3]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 955 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Bill on 03/10/2017:
"Love this course! Probably one of my top three courses to recommend to people coming in from out of town. Beautiful "low country" setting with established lush layout. Has both challenging holes for avid golfers, and playable holes for people just picking up the game. I've played here many times in the three years I've lived in the area and I can honestly say the course is never in bad condition. The groundskeepers do a great job all year round making it an enjoyable round. The staff is friendly from the bag drop/pro shop to the snack bar/restaurant. They make you feel welcome."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Jim on 03/05/2017:
"The layout is fantastic, the course conditions were great. The staff treated us very well. It is a course I will definitely play again and put on y Myrtle Beach rotation. My favorite hole is 16, a very demanding b UT beautiful part with the marsh and the actual Pawleys Island in the background. I wish I had my camera with me. The pictures I n the website are better than I could take because of the use of a drone, very picturesque. The food in t g e was very good and the O rices were reasonable. All of the staff from the proshop, bag drop, rangers who helped me find my ball, and the wait staff were kind, friendly, very helpful. I give this a very high rating"
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
John on 03/01/2017:
"This place is fantastic! From tee to green (especially the greens) the course is in superb condition. I would recommend this for any golfer. Can be challenging, but it is fun and fair. Staff takes care of you from bag drop, starter, course ranger, and golf shop. The pub is great for post round drinks and the food is excellent. These folks know what they are doing."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Jennifer on 03/01/2017:
"Beautiful club. Course is great! Back 9 is one of the most scenic in Myrtle Beach. Will be back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Brennen on 03/01/2017:
"Course is in the best shape I have seen. Greens are in excellent condition. Any past issues have been resolved. Hats off to the greens keeper. All around great club. A must play!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Norm on 11/15/2016:
"Despite the recent previous reviews the back nine continues to suffer from the hurricane. Debris on the fairways and many areas saturated. Parts of fairway have been designated as ground under repair. Very disappointed in the conditions. Greens were slow and grass long, however they did roll well and true. Would not play this course until after the spring. Front nine was better condition."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.00]
  • Tees:
    [4]
  • Greens:
    [5]
  • Fairways:
    [5]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [6]
Tom on 11/07/2016:
"This is a fine course. Everything on the golf course at least 8 out or 10 condition. The pub area was very nice, and the people there are all very nice."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Peter on 10/24/2016:
"Played Pawleys Plantation course on 10/21/16. The area was impacted by the hurricane, but you would never know it playing the course. The course was in great shape. If you haven't played here, the back-nine has some of the best views in Myrtle Beach. The staff was terrific. Both rangers were talkative and very helpful. I would highly recommend playing at this course as everything was top-notch."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.17]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
David on 09/26/2016:
"Greens and fairways were in great shape. Back nine views are incredible as the course takes you twice through the marsh. Don't need your driver if you play from the white tees due to many dogleg fairways. Great course and will definitely play again."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Paul on 09/02/2016:
"Slightly different from the other courses in the area as it goes out into the marsh for several holes which makes it a bit special. It demands accuracy rather than length and my driving was wayward so I spent a lot of time in trouble. Staff were very friendly and helpful as with all the courses we played on this trip. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the grill. Course was in good condition (Caledonia is my benchmark). My wife found the proximity of the houses to the fairways intimidating. I personally would want to play again if my game was in better shape."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [9]
David on 06/27/2016:
"Played here having left Caledonia due to their greens having been punched. Nice layout and greens were decent, however some of the fairways were in terrible condition. We were told that the whole course was due to be punched so they may improve after that."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.00]
  • Tees:
    [6]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [3]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Jordan (Mt. Pleasant, SC) on 06/13/2016:
"Greens have recovered quite well from their spring conditions. It's worth a return trip!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Jong on 05/02/2016:
"Nice course layout. Tough but fair. Back nine reminds me of Tidewater with nice views of the marsh. Conditions were pretty good except for the greens. Very slow and lots of rough patches due to some type of fungus that has killed the grass. Local couple that I played with said that greens should be healed in a month or so. Hopefully the greens will be back soon. Will play again once the greens are back. Staff was very nice especially bag guys who got me started early in front of a large group. Thanks."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [5]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Mike on 05/01/2016:
"Course is not in good shape. Rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy with fungus. Asked before the round how the greens were and was told by the starter that 3 greens had fungus problems...It was more like over half were bad. Would not play there again until conditions improve."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.50]
  • Tees:
    [6]
  • Greens:
    [2]
  • Fairways:
    [4]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [6]
scupper on 04/21/2016:
"Course is not is good shape. Fairways are thin and rough is dirt. Greens are terrible. Save your money."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 3.17]
  • Tees:
    [1]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [1]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [3]
  • Staff:
    [6]
thescupper on 04/21/2016:
"Course is not in good shape. Thin fairways, rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy and looks like a fungus. Would not play there again until conditions improve."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 2.83]
  • Tees:
    [1]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [1]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [4]
  • Staff:
    [5]
JimV on 09/05/2015:
"Wonderful play with a great layout. The back 9 is a true challenge. Unfortunately, caught up to a "fivesome" (yes, I said "fivesome") on the back nine which created quite a backup. Guess no Rangers are on duty in the afternoon. Anyway, highly recommend as a must play when in the area"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [5]
Jase on 05/18/2015:
"This was the 2nd course we played on our 2 week trip and was certainly one of the toughest tests. Great set up, some great holes let down only by a few poor greens. The best staff encountered all trip bar Kiawah Island and a thoroughly enjoyable if tough round of golf. Afternoon was spent at the equally excellent Mel Sole Golf School."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Jeffrey on 05/05/2015:
"Fantastic golf course ... very good in all aspects!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
James (Quincy, MI) on 12/08/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.00]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
See All 896 reviews »