Pawleys Plantation Course Reviews

The Myrtle Beach Golf Insider is a golf course review site developed for golfers, by golfers. Pawleys Plantation is one of the area's most renounded courses as you can see from these recent reviews by other fellow golfers.

OVERALL SCORE: [8.3]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 956 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



John G on 01/18/2018:
" Love Pawleys Plantation! Been playing every tear for 15+ years! Two rounds already booked for march 2018! This course is always in great shape! Staff is always top notch!awesome marsh views and a cool dyke that crosses the marsh with two tee boxes to par threes! Great challenge! Oh and keep a eye out for the no tail alligator! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Mike on 10/31/2017:
" What a fantastic place! The course was awesome, and to top it off, it is a Jack Nicklaus Signature. Jack didn't disappoint with this layout. Challenging, fun, and extremely beautiful. The staff is super courteous and helpful. Snack bar and restaurant were wonderful. On my list to play every year. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Cory M on 10/23/2017:
" Beautiful day, beautiful course! A must play when you are here "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Ed H on 09/29/2017:
" Great Jack Nicklaus design, course in very good shape. Enjoyed the holes on the marsh very much. May be my new favorite course in Myrtle Beach "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Aaron H on 08/23/2017:
" Played Pawleys Plantation during the Eclipse and had a great time. Course in great shape and thought the marsh holes were awesome, what a view. Look forward to playing here again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Miguel P on 06/26/2017:
" Course and conditions were nice. However, lots of sand on this course that had not been groomed in days. Overzealous marshals pushed us 4 due to a twosome and threesome behind us. Nice course but play in the afternoon if you want to play at a regular pace. Otherwise they intend to rush you through your round. Oh, and don't stop to use the bathroom either...Also, It may be women friendly but not kid friendly.... "
OVERALL SCORE: [5]
Mike Dreyer, PGA on 04/17/2017:
" Great Layout, Staff, Course Conditions, Pace of Play! Couldn't be better. Visiting from MD. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Bill on 03/10/2017:
" Love this course! Probably one of my top three courses to recommend to people coming in from out of town. Beautiful low country setting with established lush layout. Has both challenging holes for avid golfers, and playable holes for people just picking up the game. I've played here many times in the three years I've lived in the area and I can honestly say the course is never in bad condition. The groundskeepers do a great job all year round making it an enjoyable round. The staff is friendly from the bag drop/pro shop to the snack bar/restaurant. They make you feel welcome. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Jim on 03/05/2017:
" The layout is fantastic, the course conditions were great. The staff treated us very well. It is a course I will definitely play again and put on y Myrtle Beach rotation. My favorite hole is 16, a very demanding b UT beautiful part with the marsh and the actual Pawleys Island in the background. I wish I had my camera with me. The pictures I n the website are better than I could take because of the use of a drone, very picturesque. The food in t g e was very good and the O rices were reasonable. All of the staff from the proshop, bag drop, rangers who helped me find my ball, and the wait staff were kind, friendly, very helpful. I give this a very high rating "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Brennen on 03/01/2017:
" Course is in the best shape I have seen. Greens are in excellent condition. Any past issues have been resolved. Hats off to the greens keeper. All around great club. A must play! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Jennifer on 03/01/2017:
" Beautiful club. Course is great! Back 9 is one of the most scenic in Myrtle Beach. Will be back. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
John on 03/01/2017:
" This place is fantastic! From tee to green (especially the greens) the course is in superb condition. I would recommend this for any golfer. Can be challenging, but it is fun and fair. Staff takes care of you from bag drop, starter, course ranger, and golf shop. The pub is great for post round drinks and the food is excellent. These folks know what they are doing. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Norm on 11/15/2016:
" Despite the recent previous reviews the back nine continues to suffer from the hurricane. Debris on the fairways and many areas saturated. Parts of fairway have been designated as ground under repair. Very disappointed in the conditions. Greens were slow and grass long, however they did roll well and true. Would not play this course until after the spring. Front nine was better condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [5]
Tom on 11/07/2016:
" This is a fine course. Everything on the golf course at least 8 out or 10 condition. The pub area was very nice, and the people there are all very nice. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
David on 09/26/2016:
" Greens and fairways were in great shape. Back nine views are incredible as the course takes you twice through the marsh. Don't need your driver if you play from the white tees due to many dogleg fairways. Great course and will definitely play again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Paul on 09/02/2016:
" Slightly different from the other courses in the area as it goes out into the marsh for several holes which makes it a bit special. It demands accuracy rather than length and my driving was wayward so I spent a lot of time in trouble. Staff were very friendly and helpful as with all the courses we played on this trip. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the grill. Course was in good condition (Caledonia is my benchmark). My wife found the proximity of the houses to the fairways intimidating. I personally would want to play again if my game was in better shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jordan (Mt. Pleasant, SC) on 06/13/2016:
" Greens have recovered quite well from their spring conditions. It's worth a return trip! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jong on 05/02/2016:
" Nice course layout. Tough but fair. Back nine reminds me of Tidewater with nice views of the marsh. Conditions were pretty good except for the greens. Very slow and lots of rough patches due to some type of fungus that has killed the grass. Local couple that I played with said that greens should be healed in a month or so. Hopefully the greens will be back soon. Will play again once the greens are back. Staff was very nice especially bag guys who got me started early in front of a large group. Thanks. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Mike on 05/01/2016:
" Course is not in good shape. Rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy with fungus. Asked before the round how the greens were and was told by the starter that 3 greens had fungus problems...It was more like over half were bad. Would not play there again until conditions improve. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
thescupper on 04/21/2016:
" Course is not in good shape. Thin fairways, rough is dirt and greens are in very bad shape - bumpy and looks like a fungus. Would not play there again until conditions improve. "
OVERALL SCORE: [3]
scupper on 04/21/2016:
" Course is not is good shape. Fairways are thin and rough is dirt. Greens are terrible. Save your money. "
OVERALL SCORE: [3]
JimV on 09/05/2015:
" Wonderful play with a great layout. The back 9 is a true challenge. Unfortunately, caught up to a fivesome (yes, I said fivesome) on the back nine which created quite a backup. Guess no Rangers are on duty in the afternoon. Anyway, highly recommend as a must play when in the area "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Oscar (Overland Park, KS) on 11/20/2014:
" I am a Senior Citizen over age 70 with an 18 handicap.. I loved this course. However, my shoulders stiffened up on the back nine and caused me all kind of trouble. If I get to play this course again, I will go to the RED tees to tee off. The course is very beautiful and I enjoyed it immensely. The fairways were in excellent shape and the golf ball rolled true on the greens even it was in November. This was my dream course to play in the Myrtle Beach area. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jeff (York, PA) on 11/10/2014:
" We had 10 golfers. So we had open spots, and they were going to put another golfer with us, (which was no problem). But I wanted to get information from them so I could organize my own group, and they didn't communicate very well. Acted like I was bothering them. In the end it all worked out. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Robert (Fairfax Station, VA) on 10/16/2014:
" Greens had too much slope and runoff. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Bob (Port Moody, BC) on 10/11/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Gary (Bernville, PA) on 09/29/2014:
" Outstanding. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Bill (Sanford, NC) on 09/18/2014:
" Course was extremely wet but all comments in our group were favorable. Definitely a good test of golf. Premium on accuracy and distance control. We played the gold tees and are glad we did! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Brian (Miller Place, NY) on 09/17/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Chris on 08/26/2014:
" Outstanding. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Bill (Trumbull, CT) on 06/18/2014:
" Really good "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Scott (Springfield, IL) on 06/09/2014:
" Nice layout.It got a little confusing for a three or for hole stretch on yhe back nine.Two real short par threes that you really needed local wind and club selection knowledge on "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Chris (Woodbury, NJ) on 06/06/2014:
" Very unique course in very good condition and a good challenge. The par 3 island holes were unlike anything I've ever played or seen. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Austin (Winty, ON) on 06/02/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Dennis (Morganton, NC) on 05/23/2014:
" The course was in real good shape, just not a great fan of the layout. I know that this is a Nicklaus course, but am not a fan of trees in the fairway to have to hit over or around. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Bill (Raleigh, NC) on 04/30/2014:
" Do not like this course very much. Too tricked up with water, sand, and marsh. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Mel (Cary, NC) on 04/30/2014:
" We played the white tees which made the course too hard for some in our group (handicaps over 25). Suggest making hybrid course selection possible (mixing the tees to make course 300-400 yards shorter for seniors). "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Robbie (North Wilkesboro, NC) on 04/30/2014:
" Slightly over rated course "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Chris on 04/08/2014:
" We played the course for the first on our yearly golf trip. I did not care for the tee boxes as they were crowned and not level.The fairways were not in the best shape which may have been due to the harsh winter the south endured. However my beef was as we finished our first 9 holes and started on hole 1 what do we come upon?Why a SINGLE walker Chuck who must be a member and was carted out to fairway after he teed off.We were told we would never see him again.Wrong we saw chuck for 7 holes.I realize that walking is a great part of the game but to put a walker out on the course on an afternoon on a Friday? I am a member of a private club in PA and walking is only allowed at certain times during the week.The course was challenging and would come back to try it again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Dana (Pompton Lakes, NJ) on 04/08/2014:
" Outstanding "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Bill (Greeneville, TN) on 03/12/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Bill (Beavercreek, OH) on 03/12/2014:
" Beautiful course. Very scenic with the marshlands. Probably not wise on starting with this course after taking the winter off. I lost 11 balls in the water and marsh. My favorite course of the week though. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Duval on 02/25/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Tank (Rustburg, VA) on 02/20/2014:
" Outstanding "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Mark (Havre De Grace, MD) on 02/20/2014:
" Fantastic "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Timothy on 01/23/2014:
" Pawleys Plantation is always a great time. We played it on 1/20/14. The overall course is in very good shape for January. I have to say the staff was GREAT because they gave me the CHOICE to get paired up with another twosome or just play with my wife. I chose just us because my wife is not a strong golfer and can feel uncomfortable with being paired up. I can't emphasize how nice it was that we had the choice. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Dan on 01/15/2014:
" Greens were in good shape for being dormant. Rough was playable for all skill levels. Tee boxes were in good shape. I like the contrast between the overseeded fairways and the dormant rough. Helps for aiming purposes and is visually stimulating. I've played here many times before, once they finish the construction on 11 the par 5 will open up and be more accessible for players of all skill levels. The views are a most see and I recommend this course to all golfers visiting the Myrtle Beach area. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Walter (Columbia, SC) on 01/10/2014:
" The staff, course are always top notch even in January the course is in great shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
George on 12/02/2013:
" I have played golf in 42 states and Pawley's Plantation is one of the most beautiful places I have been. The layout and care taken of the course are second to none. George L "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Lin (Hawkinsville, GA) on 11/15/2013:
" Great facility!! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
See All 956 reviews »